into the woods, and back out again

Hello!

So on the advice of two whole people, I’ve started this here blog on WordPress.  We’ll see what becomes of it, although it will probably contain a lot of chatter about hiking, knitting and possibly reading.  I know.  You’re shocked.

To start the new year, although I did not intend it as a start to the new year, I have been cleaning out  my office.  I’ve been frustrated by the clutter in our house, and I’m ever on the quest for ways to keep it cleaner without actually cleaning it.  It’s probably a never-ending quest because there’s no way to keep a house clean without doing the daily drudgery of actually putting things away and scrubbing what’s left, but I soldier on.  Disillusion me not!

Yesterday, I went on a hike with Lisa.  That was how I intended to start my new year, and I’m very pleased that we made it happen.  We hiked the Whitehorse trail, which branches off the Centennial trail, which is accessible from downtown Arlington.  The Centennial trail is a very nicely paved walking/biking trail, and we felt a little silly with our backpacks, as if we anticipated getting lost in the heart of the small but rather bustling metropolis of Arlington.  Thankfully, we reached the Whitehorse trail soon and it was more like we expected: leaf-strewn, quiet and unpaved.

Lovely, nie?  We didn’t love the gravel, which was largish, and a bit like walking on sand.  I blame the gravel for how sore I am today, because it was otherwise a very easy hike.

It was probably 3 or 3.5 miles to the end, where we saw a family walking with a couple of beautiful Great Danes.  Someday I’d like to have a giant dog like that, but my tiny house and tiny yard and animal-phobic daughter limit my plans.  Anyway, we sat on the grass and drank coffee and had a very satisfactory rest before heading back to the car.

The sun showed itself on our return trip, and limned the mossy trees and sparkled on the grass and brambles that edged the trail.

We were quite glad to reach the car again, both of us already surprisingly sore.  When I got home, I took a hot bath, helped John with dinner and then was so sleepy that John sent me to bed at 6 p.m., and so ended my day!  It was a good one.

Leave a Reply

