into the woods, and back out again

Howarth Park

I’ve been away a long time.

Hiking has been sporadic this last year, and I’m working at getting that part of my life back.  On that front, I took my kids out to Howarth Park yesterday to walk on the beach, only to find that the bridge was very definitely closed and there was no way down to the beach.  There’s a little trail through the woods right there, though, that goes from the landing up to the park, so we walked up that.  It’s really not a very nice trail, especially this time of year, but it was nice to get into some trees.  The kids played in the playground for a bit, ate their cookies and finished off the drinks we’d gotten at a coffee stand on our way in and then we took the road back down to the car.

I’m working my way up to taking the kids out on longer, real hikes, but this was a good start.

Leave a Reply

